From the comments on my last post:

scott would you be so kind, if you have some spare time, to post a list of textbooks that you’ve read in math and cs?

Now this is the kind of blog topic I like: zero expenditure of emotional energy required; lends itself to snarky one-liners. So here’s a list of math and CS books that I’ve read and you should too. Pitifully incomplete, but enough to get you started.

  • Computational Complexity, by Christos Papadimitriou
    The Iliad of complexity. An epic poem to read and reread until you can quote it by section number, until the pages fall out of the spine. Christos is not a textbook writer but a bard — and the only problem with his tale is that it ends around the late 1980′s. Christos, if you’re reading this: we want an Odyssey!
  • Gems of Theoretical Computer Science, by Uwe Schöning and Randall Pruim
    The proofs are terse, but I love the division into short, digestible “gems.” Keep this one on your night table or by the toilet. (But not until you’ve mastered Papadimitriou and are ready to wield BP operators like a Fortnow.)
  • Quantum Computation and Quantum Information, by “Mike & Ike” (Michael Nielsen and Isaac Chuang)
    The best quantum computing book. I open it to the section on fidelity and trace distance pretty much every time I write a paper. (I’ve heard the other sections are excellent too.)
  • Randomized Algorithms, by Rajeev Motwani and Prabhakar Raghavan
    Chernoff bounds, random walks, second eigenvalues, PCP’s … a 1-1/e fraction of what you need to know about randomness.
  • Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Introduction, by Stuart Russell and Peter Norvig
    Almost (but not quite) made me go into AI. My favorite chapter is the last one, which carefully demolishes the arguments of John Searle and the other confuseniks.
  • Complexity and Real Computation, by Lenore Blum, Felix Cucker, Michael Shub, and Steve Smale
    Decidability of the Mandelbrot set? P versus NP over the complex numbers? I may be a Boolean chauvinist, but I knows an elegant theory when I sees one.
  • The Book of Numbers, by John Conway and Richard Guy
    Since this is a popular book, obviously I couldn’t have learned anything new from it, but it was nice to “refresh my memory” about octonions, Heegner numbers, and why eπ sqrt(163) is within 0.00000000000075 of an integer.
  • The Road to Reality: A Complete Guide to the Laws of the Universe, by Roger Penrose
    Preface: “Even if you hated fractions in elementary school, have no fear! I’ve tried to make this book accessible to you as well.”
    Chapter 2: “Consider a Lie algebra of sheaves over the holomorphic fibre bundle PZL(Zn,5)…” (Not really, but close.)
    I struggled through Penrose’s masterpiece, but by the end, I felt like I’d come as close as I ever had (and possibly ever will) to understanding “post-1920′s” particle physics and the math underlying it. If you’re willing to invest the effort, you’ll find The Road to Reality so excellent that it “cancels out” Shadows of the Mind, like an electron annihilating its positronic companion.

From: http://www.scottaaronson.com/blog/?p=74

